Coach Dorothy L. Gaters

Coach Gaters has the distinction of being the winningest coach in the history of Illinois high school basketball both male and female having a record of 1133 wins and 206 losses. She has also won 25 City Championships and 10 State Championships including most recent 2018 and 2019 back to back state titles. She is a member of 5 Hall of Fames including the Chicago Public League Basketball Coach Association, in which she is co-founder, the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association in Nashville, Tennessee and the 2019 induction into the National Federation of high schools.

Coach Gaters was honored for her work with youth by the national consortium of sports, which included attending a ceremony at the White House Ceremony and being honored by President Bill Clinton.

Marshall High School girl’s basketball program has produced 18 All-Americans which includes Janet Harris (1982 National High School Player of The Year), Toni Foster (Ms. Basketball of Illinois and Big Ten Player of The Year), Kim Williams (Ms. Illinois Basketball), and Cappie Poindexter (Back to Back Ms. Illinois Basketball, Ruthers Big East Player of The Year, WNBA Champion and MVP, US Olympic Gold Medalist.)

Sports Illustrated picked Marshall at number 13th in the nation in 2008 when its boys and girls teams won state championships. This is only the second time in the history of the Illinois Basketball that this has been done.

Coach Dorothy L. Gaters created The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Dream Classic in 2001 with ten girl’s teams in 2001. The purpose of this event is to honor Dr. King each year on his Birthday weekend through wholesome competition and reminders to our participants why we celebrate Dr. King’s legacy.

The MLK Dream Classic has grown each year in national recognition, while hosting thousands of athletes throughout the United States. Eddie Oliver from calls it “one of the best events in the country”.

© copyright: 2020 MLK · All Rights Reserved • Website Designed By Istiak Ahmed